Have you noticed…

A drainage problem or localized flooding?
An arroyo or channel needing maintenance?
Illegal dumping in an arroyo?
Graffiti?
This is the place to report it!

Sandbags

Sandbags are available at City and County Fire Stations. Call first to be certain they have what you need.

City Fire Station locations
County Fire Station locations

Graffiti

Call the Graffiti Removal Hotline, and give the specific location of the graffiti. City: 768-4725; County: 768-4400.

Mosquitoes

The Bernalillo County and the City of Albuquerque provide mosquito control within the AMAFCA boundary.  Click here for more information on Mosquito control from Bernalillo County.  AMAFCA uses natural mosquito control when possible.  Bat houses are placed near AMAFCA facilities to provide habitat for these mosquito eating animals.

 

For all other issues, here’s how to notify the appropriate agency:

  1. Look at the color-coded Maintenance Map, or the Interactive Facilities Map, to determine the name of the arroyo or channel, and who is responsible for that section of arroyo or channel.
    (Adobe Reader is needed to open Maintenance Map. Most computers come with this program already installed.)

AMAFCA

COA (City of Albuquerque)

MRGCG (Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District)

Bernalillo County

NMDOT (New Mexico Department of Transportation)

AMAFCA and MRGCD – call either agency
2.
Contact the appropriate agency:

City of Albuquerque – call 3-1-1 or:
City Arroyo and Storm Drain Maintenance, 291-6214
City Department of Municipal Development Storm Drain Hotline, 768-3033
Report Illegal Dumping to Storm Drains here.

MRGCD (primarily irrigation ditches and drains in the valley) – call 247-0234

Bernalillo County – call 848-1503

NMDOT – call 841-2700

AMAFCA – call us at 884-2215, or e-mail us at amafca at amafca.org.  Please note that for security purposes, direct email links are not provided.
Please be sure to tell us your name, address, and phone number, as well as the location of the problem and a detailed description of the problem you are reporting. That way we can get back to you if we have further questions, and to follow up. Thank you

AMAFCA’s 23 employees are split between office staff and the maintenance crew. Additional engineering and maintenance services are accomplished through contracts with local businesses.

Mailing Address:
AMAFCA
2600 Prospect Avenue NE
Albuquerque, NM 87107

AMAFCA Office Staff

Jerry Lovato, P.E., Executive Engineer: jlovato at amafca.org*
Herman Chavez, Finance and Administration Manager (Certified Procurement Officer): hchavez at amafca.org*
Brad Bingham, P.E., Drainage Engineer: bbingham at amafca.org*
Nolan Bennett, P.E., Field Engineer: nbennett at amafca.org*
Nicole Friedt, P.E., Development Review Engineer: nfriedt at amafca.org*
Patrick Chavez, P.E., Stormwater Quality Engineer: pchavez at amafca.org*
Jared Romero, EIT, Engineer I: jromero at amafca.org*
Jeff Willis, Real Estate Manager: jwillis at amafca.org*
Kevin Troutman, GIS Manager: ktroutman at amafca.org*
Sal Hernandez, Maintenance Superintendent: shernandez at amafca.org*
Guylene Harris, Executive Administrative Assistant: gharris at amafca.org*
Chas Winebrenner, Administrative Assistant: cwinebrenner at amafca.org*

*For security purposes, direct email links are not provided.

Phone number: (505) 884-2215

Organizational Chart

Records subject to the Inspection of Public Records Act may be requested via email from the Records Custodian at AMAFCA at recordsrequest@amafca.org.

Download the AMAFCA Records Request Form here.

More information may be found on the FAQs page.

The AMAFCA Office can be difficult to find if you’ve never been here before. We are the only thing on our one-block-long stretch of Prospect. We are located “behind” the Holiday Inn Express and Applebee’s on Menaul.

From I-40: Take the Carlisle exit from I-40 and go north. Turn west (left) onto Menaul, then south (left) on Vassar, just before the light at Vassar. Vassar deadends at Prospect Avenue. Turn east (left) onto Prospect and you will see the AMAFCA office just ahead.

From Menaul west of University: Head east on Menaul. Turn south (right) on Vassar, just past the light at Vassar. Turn east (left) onto Prospect and you will see the AMAFCA office just ahead.

From Menaul east of Carlisle: Head west on Menaul. Turn south (left) onto Vassar just before the light at Vassar. Turn east (left) onto Prospect and you will see the AMAFCA office just ahead.